FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MILWAUKIE, OR—This year at the 2015 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, Dark Horse Comics was honored with awards for Best Single Issue, Best U.S. Edition of International Material, Best Writer, Best Coloring, and Best Lettering.

Dark Horse was awarded the largest number of Eisners in 2015, with four wins plus one shared.

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot): Beasts of Burden: Hunters and Gatherers by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson

Best U.S. Edition of International Material: Blacksad: Amarillo by Juan Díaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido

Best Writer: Gene Luen Yang, Avatar: The Last Airbender (Dark Horse), The Shadow Hero (First Second)

Best Coloring: Dave Stewart, Hellboy in Hell, B.P.R.D., Abe Sapien, Baltimore, Lobster Johnson, Witchfinder, The Shaolin Cowboy, Aliens: Fire and Stone, Dark Horse Presents

Best Lettering: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo: Senso, Usagi Yojimbo Color Special: The Artist

Congratulations to all the Eisner winners and nominees for 2015!


About Dark Horse
Founded in 1986 by Mike Richardson, Dark Horse Comics has proven to be a solid example of how integrity and innovation can help broaden a unique storytelling medium and establish a small, homegrown company as an industry giant. The company is known for the progressive and creator-friendly atmosphere it provides for writers and artists. In addition to publishing comics from top talent, such as Frank Miller, Mike Mignola, Neil Gaiman, Brian Wood, Gerard Way, Felicia Day, and Guillermo del Toro, and comics legends, such as Will Eisner, Neal Adams, and Jim Steranko, Dark Horse has developed its own successful properties, such as The Mask, Ghost, Timecop, and SpyBoy. Its successful line of comics and products based on popular properties includes Mass Effect, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Aliens, Conan, EVE Online, Halo, Serenity, Game of Thrones, and Domo. Today Dark Horse Comics is the largest independent comic book publisher in the US and is recognized as one of the world’s leading publishers of both creator-owned content and licensed comics material.

IDW Celebrates Its 15thAnniversary At The 2014 Eisner Awards!

IDW Celebrates Its 15thAnniversary
At The 2014 Eisner Awards!

IDW Publishing Takes Home The Most Awards!


San Diego, CA (July 26, 2014) – Celebrated annually at San Diego Comic Con International, the 2014 Eisner Awards, held last night, continued IDW Publishing’s 15th anniversary year! IDW Publishing and the Library of American Comics are proud to announce a total of seven combined awards! Thank you to the judges and all of our esteemed nominees for helping us celebrate this anniversary year at the Eisners!
Winning the award for Best Comics-Related Book wereDean Mullaney and Bruce Canwell, of The Library of American Comics, for their riveting and thorough exploration into the life and works of Alex Toth inGenius Illustrated. Additionally, Mullaney took home the award for BestPublication Design!

For Best Archival Collection/Project-Strips Dean Mullaney earned the top honor for his work as editor on Tarzan: The Complete Russ Manning Newspaper Strips, Vol. 1

The unrivaled line of Artist’s Editions, spearheaded by IDW’sScott Dunbier, again proved to be a critic pleaser at this year’s awards. With three Artist’s Editions nominations in the category for Best Archival Collection/Project – Comic Books, Will Eisner’s The Spirit Artist’s Edition, took home the eponymous award!
For his drop-dead gorgeous adaptation of Richard Stark’sParker: Slayground, Darwyn Cooke earned (both) his sixth (and seventh) Eisner Award(s) with IDW! For Best Adaptation From Another Medium (and Best Lettering), the fourth adaptation of the acclaimed series by Cooke, joins The HunterThe Score, and The Outfit, as Eisner award winners. 
Showing off her talents across the industry, Jordie Bellaire was awarded Best Colorist for her staggering body of work in the past year, including IDW’s series The X-Files: Season 10!
Always thrilling to receive an award from the premier award show in the comic industry, this year’s Eisner Awards are an honor among such great talent and work! Congratulations to all of the nominees and winners!

follow us on Alternative Mindz